BK Wines

Recent Reviews and Footage

December 2016: Jamie Goode the Wine Anorak blog reviews our wines www.wineanorak.com

30 November 2016: 2014 Mazi Syrah gets a place in the Adelaide Review Hot100 in the Power and Presence Class.

November 2016: 2015 Gower Pinot Noir wins best Pinot Noir at the Adelaide Hills Wine Show.

September 2016: Wine Companion: Sparks Grenache 2015 97 Points. Red Blend 2015 96 Points.

August 2016: James Halliday Wine Companion 2017: 5 Red Stars

4th July2016: Brendon is a finalist for the 3rd time in the Young Guns of Wine Awards.

December 2015: Adelaide Review Hot100. Our 2015 Rose was awarded No 9, out of 1200 wines tasted.

October 2015: Brendon was a finalist in the Young Guns of Wine Awards.

August 2015: James Halliday Wine Companion 2016: 5 RED STARS

July 2015: Tony Love’s Advertiser Hot 100 Wines for 2015 over 2000 tasted: BK Wines 2014 One Ball Chardonnay 94 Points.

July 2015: Wine Companion: Top 25 Reds over $30, BK Remy Pinot Noir 2013 96 Points.

April 2015: 94 Points 2014 Sparks Grenache, Mike Bennie

January 2015: 92 Points 2014 Pinot Grigio Wine Companion

6 December 2014: Brendon a finalist in the 2014 Young Guns of Wine. Brendon received the Award for the Winemakers Choice!

30 November 2014: Adelaide Hills Wine Show, 2012 Swaby Chardonnay GOLD.

October 2014: Adelaide Review Hot100: Mazi Syrah.

September 2014: Wine Companion 2013 Swaby Chardonnay 95 points.

August 2014: Wine Companion 2013 Sparks Grenache 96 points. 2012 Mazi Syrah 96 points.

16 April 2014: Wine Spectator. Dipping into the Natural Wines. A snapshot of the scene in Australia.http://www.winespectator.com.blogs/show/id/49827

11 April 2014: A snapshot of Australian Wines Part 1. – Pamela S. Busch.http://sfexaminer.com/sanfrancisco/a-snapshot-of-australian-wines-part-1/Content?oid=2761265

26 February 2014: Wine Spectator Insider. 2012 Swaby Chardonnay 93 Points Sleek and silky, brimming with toasty, mineral-accented pear com- pote and savory spice flavors, lingering easily on the expressive finish. Has presence and finesse. Drink now through 2020.—Harvey Steiman.

Jan 2014: James Halliday Wine Companion. 2012 Swaby Chardonnay 96 Points. A prime example of the class of the best Adelaide Hills chardonnays; white peach, fig, melon, cashew and citrussy acidity flow in a calm stream across the tongue and onto the back-palate and finish without any break; impossible not to like this style.

 

7 November 2013: Adelaide Review Hot 100 Wines for 2013. BK Wines Skin n Bones White 2012 won TAFE Sa’s inaugural Dreamers and Believers Award, as the wine that pushed the boundaries stylistically. This wine show is one of two we enter each year, the 19 judges from all over the country blind-tasted 1100 South Australian wines to discover 2013’s most drinkable drops. Our 2012 Gower Pinot Noir was also picked in the Top 100 Wines.

10 October 2013: Huon Hooke White Wine of the Week in the Sydney Morning Herald: 2012 BK Wines Rosetta Pinot Gris 92/100.

1st June 2013: Top South Australian Wines for 2013 in the Sumptuous Magazine. 2011 Swaby Chardonnay 94 points.

1st May 2013: Top Cellaring Wines for 2013 in the Wine Companion. Our 2010 Mazi Syrah gets 97 Points and is highest rated wine in the Cellaring Selections Book!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/richard-jennings/australian-wine-_b_2628419.html

http:cookedandbottledinbrunswick.blogspot.com/2012/12/bk-adelaide-hills-cult-syrah-2011.html

23rd November 2012: Adelaide Hills Wine Show. We received a Silver Medal for our 2011 Swaby Chardonnay, a Bronze for our 2011 One Ball Chardonnay and a Bronze for our 2012 Gewurztraminer.

1 November 2012: Adelaide Review Hot100 Wines of South Australia is a search for the most drinkable and exciting wines in South Australia. 1200 wines entered and two of our Wines made the cut. 2011 Rosetta Pinot Gris and 2011 Swaby Chardonnay came up tops in the Natural Wine Class.

25th July 2012: BK Wines was lucky enough to be chosen as one of the Ten Dark Horses in the 2013 James Halliday Wine Companion…and now we are a Five Star Winery! What a great privilege!
http:/www.winecompanion.com.au/wineries/ten-dark-horses-2013

We are the Winery of the month July 2012 at Oak Barrel in Sydney watch a very tired BK being interviewed.
articlesandreviews

Wine Companion Magazine March 2012
BK Wines Swaby Chardonnay 2010
Rating:94
Alcohol: 14%
Light straw-green; an elegant and prefectly balanced chardonnay with white peach, melon and grapefruit wwathed in a fine touch of French oak. An excellent example of Adelaide Hills Chardonnay.

James Halliday’s wine tasting notes: 22 September 2011
BK Wines Cult Syrah 2010
Rating:96
Alcohol:14%
Strong colour; I suppose the retro label suits the cult imagery, but the quality of the wine could be lost in the story It has a wonderful bouquet of black cherry fruit and quality oak, and the palate builds on the promise of the bouquet in an effortless display of cool climate shiraz at its best. Bargain.

BK Wines One Ball Chardonnay 2010
Rating:94 Drink By:2017
Alcohol:14%
As the saying goes, this is a very smart wine, with nectarine, white peach and grapefruit lining the palate with a silky stream of fruit flavour, barrel ferment oak and bright acidity there to add support, not to complicate the message.

Thank you Mr Halliday!

BK Wines - Adelaide Hills Wine, Australia